Maybe Anne Frank was onto something

I lost my debit card last night. I didn’t realize it until I tried to pay for a meal I’d eaten in a local (to me) restaurant. The other card I carry was unacceptable because the processing system was down.

Thank God I had cash.

I immediately called the bank, killed the card, and requested a replacement. It would take a day or two and cost me money. Plus it would glom up a couple of outstanding business orders.

At 1:30 PM today I had to teach a class. I looked at the window on the door and there was a guy from MIS standing there holding my blue card. I was aghast.

Consideration and honesty always make me feel like that because I have a very low opinion of most human beings. Sad but true. The guy from MIS pointed at the young man who actually retrieved the card. I just shook my head like a bobblehead doll and said “Thank you” over and over.

Treacly, isn’t it?

What (or who) do I think of but Annelies Marie “Anne” Frank. “Despite everything, I believe that people are really good at heart.” I wonder if she thought that about the people who held her in terror and captivity in Amsterdam, Westerbork,¬†Auschwitz, and Bergen-Belsen where she died.

Even now, more than sixty years after she died, the words bring tears. Some people act with selflessness and goodness, thereby defeating the oft-held assumption that people tend to be self-interested scum. I have to fight that belief every day.

Today someone taught me that Annelies Frank may have nailed it.

Now my confession: I have never read the book nor seen the movie. I’ve heard the movie is a real dog, but it’s time for me to read what I gather is one of the most profound and forgiving documents in any language.

Later for now.

Leave a Reply

