The joy of Barbara Ehrenreich + The Secret + The racist attack on Obama

And I thought this was going to be short…

First, I’m on Barbara Ehrenreich’s mailing list, so I got a notice about her (relatively) new book. I will let you look at the cover and title for yourselves:

brightsided220

I love it when people see a social trend that shares my own non-sweetness & light disposition, i.e., a problem is not an opportunity except for more catastrophe. As the recession has propelled us into double digit unemployment, the relentlessly spewed trash about how you can wind up in a better situation than the one you lost simply reeks of week-old kitty litter. You are being told a lie. The only opportunity is to face the situation head-on, do what you must, and rail. The current situation of economic disaster generates a series of lies about attitude adjustments and horse-cock slogans like “I’m not unemployed, I’m between jobs.” Right. When people who made $90,000 a year are fighting for 30-day contract jobs for $15 an hour, this country is so over….

Second, and related: the epitome of the age of positive delusion is the irredeemably meretricious book and DVD calling itself The Secret. I watched a pirated version of the DVD. It was mind-boggling. I was being told I can wish my way into riches, happiness, and damage-proof relationships. The flip side is I can wish death and ruin on people who have hurt me, and I will have my revenge?. That hardly fits the happy-happy joy-joy message, does it?

Finally, there is this:

Barack Hussein Obama, mmmmmm mmmmmm mmmmmm.

I hear this most often, being in the New York area, from Rush Limbaugh, and from the despicable King of the Court Jews, Steve Malzberg. Malzberg in particular, going back to his days as the gofer for Art Rust, Jr. (a black man!), is a somewhat soberer and more pointed version of Glenn Beck. He has fangs like a black mamba and they drip poison.

Barack Hussein Obama, mmmmmm mmmmmm mmmmmm.

The Hussein part is easy because Malzberg is really a Birther who seems to endorse the theory that Obama was born a Muslim in The Land of Booga-Booga and actually has a bone through his nose.

The mmmmmm mmmmmm mmmmmm stuff is even worse. The last time I heard that was the last time I saw Gone with the Wind. The sound belonged to Hattie McDaniel, the black woman who played Scarlett O’Hara’s mammy. Whether Malzberg came up with it or Limbaugh, who is much more intelligent, the fact remains it is the most blatant expression of racism against the President yet. And it’s only the start. Right: Obama is making more mistakes than a blind tailor or seamstress. He’s proven his maladroitness and spastically bad timing one time after another. But to make him sound like a Civil War mammy…well, the only people that’s not beneath are Limbaugh and The Court Jew. It’s perfectly incredible but in America circa 2009, what’s incredible anymore?

Leave a Reply

