The NY Times Discovers Age Discrimination (Woo-Hoo!)

I want to show you something.

This is a PDF of a memo I accidentally received on Tuesday, May 2, 2006, when I arrived at my desk at Citigroup’s GSVC in the Brooklyn Army Terminal. I say accidentally because it was intended for the former occupant of my workstation. The manager forgot himself after a 12-hour day. He forgot I would see it first. Download it and see what the world of the over-50 employee really looks like.

citigroup001

There it is. Black and white and PDF. Age discrimination exists, ladies and gentlemen. I finally have the proof.

[Note: To view the PDF, you may need to click once, then click again on the same link on the next screen. The file should then display.]

I forwarded the document to a lawyer. He was interested until he realized it was Citi; then he weaseled out by indicating that Citi had punished the malefactor, Yukim Yee, and was offering me a job in the BAT complex. I told him I wanted Manhattan but would keep the BAT on reserve.

I had to think about it for a few days. A drive to Brooklyn across Staten Island could kill an elephant and I don’t have that thick a hide.

When I finally said yes, suddenly–quel surprise!–there was no job. The requisition had been pulled. Citi had covered its legal ass by blatantly lying.

An American financial institution actually lied? Oh my God, how is this possible?

Now the New York Times, that collection of derriere guardists, discovers that older workers get discriminated against! Wow! What investigative journalism!  They report the difficulties and despair of the older worker who gets repeatedly employment-raped by corporations that say they value experience but want punk kids to whom they can pay less and who are less likely to catch a cold.

Here’s the Times story. Read it and weep. Then commit an act of sabotage by using names as I’ve done. And then call a lawyer because this is the first shot in a war that some lawyer–even in New Jersey–might be brave enough not to avoid.

As an aside, some had the idea that Yukim was 25. No, he had worked for Citigroup for 25 years. I’d love to know what became of him, but then again, what’s the difference?

Leave a Reply

